Is the Solid Starts app free? The table below puts it next to Sito on what a parent starting solids needs. Every Solid Starts line comes from its own pages.
- The Solid Starts app is free to download with a free food database; its food log and its allergen introduction need a subscription.
- Solid Starts' app subscription is built around a baby's first 100 foods; Sito is one subscription from the first spoon to 18.
- Sito shows how to serve 583 foods at your baby's age, logs every taste, takes 9 allergens one at a time, and opens the full app at 12 months.
Is the Solid Starts app worth it? Sito and Solid Starts, side by side
It depends on what you need after the first foods.
| What you need | Sito | Solid Starts app (from its own pages) |
|---|---|---|
| How to serve each food at your baby's age | 583 foods, by age band from 6 months to 5 years, choking risks flagged, each card with its own sources | First Foods database: how to cut and serve by age |
| A log of what your baby tried and how it went | Each taste: how much, texture, and loved it / not sure / refused | Tracker for foods and reactions |
| Allergens one at a time, with a check-in | 9 allergens; "How did it go?" after each taste, a reminder at two hours, blue/orange 7-day keep-up | Each allergen over three meals with growing amounts |
| The ages it covers | Birth to 18; Starting Solids from 4 months, the full app at 12 months | Built around the first 100 foods |
| Nutrients once your child eats meals (12 months on) | Tracks 18 nutrients; calorie range for age, sex and size | Not stated by Solid Starts |
| Packaged food scored for your child's age (12 months on) | Score out of 100 for the child's age, stricter under 6 | Not stated by Solid Starts |
| Growth charts | WHO charts doctors use under 2 | Not stated by Solid Starts |
| A report for the doctor | One PDF: growth, allergens and reactions, foods tried; nutrition from 12 months; six languages | Tracker export to share with the doctor |
| Both parents in the same account | Invite with a one-time code; each logs from their own phone | Share the account email and password |
| Languages | English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Dutch | English and Spanish |
Our answer: Sito, from the first taste onward
Sito is our app. From 4 months, the home screen is Starting Solids: the three readiness signs before the first taste, how to serve each of 583 foods at your baby's age, and a quick log of how much, which texture, and how it went. The Allergen Ladder takes 9 common allergens, one at a time, with a check-in after each.
Before a checkup, Sito makes one PDF for the doctor in six languages. We make it on your phone, and nothing is sent until you share it. Both parents log from their own phone.
Every first food, served right
Add your baby and Starting Solids opens at 4 months. Free to download, with a free trial.
Is the Solid Starts app free?
The download is free. Without a subscription you get the First Foods database: how to cut and serve each food, with allergen, choking and nutrition information. Logging the foods served to your baby and introducing allergens inside the app need a subscription (Solid Starts Help Center, Is the Solid Starts App free?).
What does the Solid Starts app do?
Solid Starts describes its app as covering the introduction of solid foods, with baby led weaning or the move from purées to finger foods (Solid Starts, App Store listing). Its First Foods database shows, for each food, how to cut and serve it based on the baby's age, with choking, allergen and nutrition notes.
The subscription covers a baby's first 100 foods. Its tracker logs foods and reactions, and you can export it to review with the doctor (Solid Starts website, app page on the first 100 foods). Allergens are introduced over a series of three meals with increasing amounts, then kept in rotation (Solid Starts Help Center, Introducing allergens in the App).
An app for starting solids that keeps going at 12 months
At 12 months the full app opens on its own: meals from a photo, 18 nutrients, and how to cut every food until age 4. It is the same child in the same app, with nothing new to set up. The toddler page shows that side.
When you log a toddler's meal, a food that is still a choking risk shows its chip, like "Choking risk until 4 yrs", and a How to serve link to its card at your child's age. The Allergen Ladder stays open until 2.
Starting solids safely, whatever app you use
Three signs, showing together from around 6 months, tell you your baby is ready: they can sit and hold their head steady, pick food up and put it in their mouth, and swallow it rather than spit it back out (NHS). Allergy specialists say solids usually start around 6 months, and not before 4 months (ASCIA).
Always stay with your baby while they eat, in case they start to choke. Choking is different from gagging (NHS). Watching also lets you catch an allergic reaction (ASCIA). Introduce only one new common allergen per meal. Once your baby tolerates it, offer it at least once a week (ASCIA).
If your baby has severe eczema or an egg allergy, the AAP says testing for peanut allergy is recommended. Check with your child's doctor about how and when to give peanut products (AAP HealthyChildren). Symptoms can take up to 2 hours to show. Anaphylaxis is a medical emergency and needs urgent treatment (NHS).
An app cannot diagnose a reaction. Sito is a guide, not medical advice. You decide what your child eats, and your child's doctor has the final word.
FAQ
Is the Solid Starts app free?
The download and the First Foods database are free. Logging foods and introducing allergens in the app need a subscription (Solid Starts Help Center, Is the Solid Starts App free?).
What is the 3 day rule for starting solids?
The AAP suggests one new single-ingredient food every 3 to 5 days (AAP HealthyChildren). For allergens, ASCIA says one new food at a meal, then, once it is tolerated, at least once a week in age-appropriate servings (ASCIA). Sito's Allergen Ladder follows the same shape: one new allergen at a time, a small amount first, then at least once a week to keep it up.
Does Sito count calories for my baby?
Under 12 months there is nothing to count. Sito keeps what your baby has tried, how each food went, the allergens they have met and their growth. For what a meal looks like at this age, see how much a 6 month old eats.
Can both parents see the log?
Yes. In Sito, the account holder shows a one-time code on their phone, the partner enters it, and both log from their own phones into the same household account.
Is Sito medical advice?
No. Sito is a guide, not medical advice. You decide what your child eats, and your child's doctor has the final word.
Sources
- NHS, Your baby's first solid foods (reviewed 19 Feb 2026)
- NHS, Food allergies in babies and young children (reviewed 22 Oct 2024)
- ASCIA, How to Introduce Solid Foods to Babies for Allergy Prevention (updated January 2026)
- AAP HealthyChildren, Starting Solid Foods (updated 6/23/2026)
- Solid Starts Help Center: Is the Solid Starts App free?; Introducing allergens in the App; account sharing; languages (seen 2026-10-06)
- Solid Starts website, app page on the first 100 foods (seen 2026-10-06)
- Solid Starts, App Store listing (seen 2026-10-06)